تحديثات على أسس عبودية الحبل

تريد أن تصنع أفضل كتاب يمكنك صنعه، لديك العديد جولات من التحرير من قبل العديد من الأشخاص، وبينما تتحسن وتتحسن في كل مرة، فإن الكمال لا يمكن تحقيقه حقًا. لذا، نطلب منك أنت القارئ والمجتمع مساعدتنا في التحسين.

لا شك أنه كلما زاد عددكم في الأسس، قد يكون لديك أسئلة. إذا رأيت طريقة يمكننا من خلالها تحسين الأسس، نود أن نسمعها! لا تتردد في ترك تعليق أدناه أو، إذا كنت ترغب في مشاركة أفكارك بشكل أكثر خصوصية, أرسل لي رسالة.

إذا وجدت أخطاء إملائية بسيطة، أو أشياء أخرى من هذا القبيل، سنقوم بجمعها دون اتصال بالإنترنت لإدراجها في نسخة مستقبلية، ولكننا سنشارك أي توضيحات مادية على هذه الصفحة. بهذه الطريقة لن يحتاج الناس إلى انتظار طبعة مستقبلية للحصول على تحديثات مهمة!

الارتباك

فيما يتعلق بإصدار أسس عبودية الحبل الذي صدر في نوفمبر 2023، أشار الأصدقاء في المجتمع إلى أن هناك معلومات في الصفحة 96 مربكة: تم تضمين عمودي "التعليق" و"المياه" بدون سياق أو شرح، وبدون هذا السياق، فإن هذين العمودين يشيران إلى أشياء غير صحيحة.

بدون سياق، فإن البيانات الواردة في عمود "التعليق" تجعلني أبدو وكأنني أقول أن مجتمع الحبال بشكل عام يعتقد أنه لا ينبغي استخدام النايلون والجوت للتعليق. هذا غير صحيح. هذه الأنواع من الحبال هي تستخدم عادة في التعليق. يشير عمود "الماء" إلى أن بعض أنواع الحبال يجب ألا تتلامس مع الماء. وهذا أيضاً ليس صحيحاً. ومع ذلك، بدون السياق هذا ما يبدو أنه يعنيه.

التوضيح

التعليق - نايلون وجوت هي التي يستخدمها المتمرسون في التعليق. ولكنني شخصياً لا أوصي بها للأشخاص الذين يتعلمون كيفية التعليق لأول مرة. المزيد عن هذا الأمر في اختيار حبل التعليق المادة.

المياه التنظيف: يمكن وينبغي غسل الحبال من وقت لآخر من أجل أغراض النظافة الصحية. Sالسينات: عند استخدام حبل للمشاهد التي ستستخدم فيها المياه، يتجنب معظم الناس حبال الألياف الطبيعية حيث تميل العقد إلى الانحشار ويصبح من الصعب أو المستحيل فكها. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يظل القطن خياراً جيداً إذا كنت تريد الألياف الطبيعية؛ فهو غير مكلف ويمكنك فقط قطع الحبل عند العقدة إذا انحشرت.

الخطوات التالية:

  • أعمل مع الناشر لتحديث المخطوطة بحيث لا تتضمن الطبعات المستقبلية من هذا الكتاب هذين العمودين.
  • في هذه الأثناء، ستجد أدناه جدولاً محدثاً أكثر وضوحاً ودقة من الجدول الوارد في المنشور الأولي.  إليك نسخة بصيغة PDF من الجدول إذا كنت تريد طباعته وإدراجه في نسختك من أسس عبودية الحبل.
  النوع الشعبية1 التكلفة2 قوة الكسر التقريبية3(رطل) الخشونة4 مشاهد مائية5 التعليق6 التعليقات
الألياف الطبيعية القنب ★★★★ $$$ 600 ★★★ &شيك تحظى بشعبية كبيرة بين المشغلين في جميع أنحاء العالم. يتمتع بمظهر كلاسيكي. يتحرك بكثافة أكثر من الجوت، وهو ما يفضله البعض. يمكن صبغه، ولكن الألوان ستكون غنية مقابل الألوان الزاهية.
جوت ★★★★ $$$ 200 ★★★ &شيك7 كما يحظى بشعبية كبيرة بين الحمالين في جميع أنحاء العالم. ليس بقوة القنب. أخف وزناً وأكثر ليونة من القنب ويتحرك بطريقة نابضة لطيفة يفضلها البعض.
القطن ★★★ $ 350 ★★ &شيك5 شائع، وغير مكلف، وخفيف، وناعم، ولكنه لا يزال يحمل العقد بشكل جيد. تجنب الأنواع "الصلبة". تتقبل الصبغة جيداً.
كتان/كتان ★★ $$ 400 ★★★ &شيك شبيه جداً بالقنب، ولكنه أكثر نعومة. يميل إلى أن يحتوي على عدد أقل من الألياف السائبة وأن يكون أكثر اتساقاً في المظهر.
جوز الهند ★★ $ 80 ★★★★ ليس شائعاً تقريباً. خشنة للغاية. تسبب السحجات بسهولة. للتعذيب أكثر من الحبس. يتوقف معظم الناس عن المقاومة تماماً بعد فترة قصيرة في حبل جوز الهند.
الألياف الاصطناعية نايلون ★★★ $ 1450 &شيك &شيك8 ألياف صناعية شائعة جداً متوفرة بألوان عديدة. أقل أسناناً من الألياف الطبيعية ويمكن أن يكون زلقاً. عقدة مزدوجة لأي قفل. ابحث عن الإصدارات التي يقدمها موردو حبال العبودية؛ وعادةً ما تكون لها خصائص ربط أفضل بكثير من النايلون أو مزيج النايلون/البولي الموجود في متاجر الأجهزة.
MFP ★★★ $ 1100 &شيك &شيك8 مشابه جداً للنايلون. يأتي بالعديد من الألوان. لا يمكن صبغه في المنزل.
بوش ★★ $$$ 1200 ★★ &شيك &شيك يشبه القنب في الشكل والملمس. شائع الاستخدام في خطوط التعليق لأنه أقوى بكثير من القنب الطبيعي أو الجوت.
هيمبكس $$ 1100 ★★★ &شيك &شيك بديل آخر للقنب الصناعي أقوى بكثير من القنب أو الجوت. لا يحظى بشعبية كبيرة مثل قنب البوش، حيث يميل إلى أن يصبح غير واضح مع مرور الوقت.

1  الشعبية - هذه مجرد إرشادات عامة وهي عبارة عن لقطة زمنية وجغرافية. قد تكون الأمور مختلفة حسب مكان وزمان قراءة هذا التقرير.

2  التكلفة - التكلفة المرتفعة الموضحة للقنب والجوت هي إذا اشتريته من مورد حبال القنب والجوت وكان قد تمت معالجته بالفعل، وتمت إزالة الألياف الزائدة منه، وتمت معالجته بقليل من الزيت، وما إلى ذلك. أما إذا اشتريته خاماً وقمت بمعالجته بنفسك، فستكون التكلفة أقل بكثير. تخضع القيم النسبية الموضحة للتغيير مع مرور الوقت وقوى السوق.

3  كسر القوة - هذه الأرقام (مقربة لأسفل) هي الإرشادات فقط. يفترضون ظروف المختبر مع جديد حبل 6 مم (1/4 بوصة). هناك تباين كبير في هذه الأرقام بين مختلف المصنعين، لذا تحقق دائمًا من المواصفات من المصدر الذي تفكر فيه. - ملحوظة: لأسباب تتعلق بالمسؤولية، من الشائع جدًا ألا ينشر منتجو حبال الربط أرقام قوة الكسر لحبال الألياف الطبيعية. - جاءت الأرقام أعلاه من هذه المصادر في عام 2023:  rwrorope.comropeandcord.comengineeringtoolbox.com

4  الخشونة - هذا هو بديل لملمس الحبل على الجلد ومدى تماسك العقد. يميل الحبل الأكثر خشونة (ذو "أسنان" أكثر) إلى تثبيت العقد بشكل أفضل. ولكن إذا كان خشنًا جدًا، تميل العقدة إلى الانحشار. (وهذا هو سبب عدم وجود حبل مانيلا في هذه القائمة).

5  المياه - "هل هذا الحبل خيار جيد للمشاهد التي قد يتبلل فيها الحبل؟ عندما يتبلل الحبل المصنوع من الألياف الطبيعية تحت الشد، يمكن أن تنحشر العقد بسهولة - أي أنها تصبح مشدودة للغاية بحيث يصبح من الصعب جدًا، وربما من المستحيل فكها. لهذا السبب، عادةً ما يختار الناس الألياف الصناعية عندما يكون هناك ماء. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يكون حبل القطن غير مكلف نسبيًا، لذلك إذا كنت ترغب في استخدام الألياف الطبيعية في مشهد يتضمن الماء، فقد يكون القطن خيارًا جيدًا؛ فهو غير مكلف نسبيًا. إذا انحشر الحبل، فقط قم بقطعه عند العقدة ... باستخدام مقص الطوارئ الطبية أو غيرها من الطرق التي تقلل من المخاطر عند استخدامه على شخص.

6  التعليق - كما هو مطبوع في الكتاب، كان المقصود بهذا العمود "هل يوصي لازاروس شخصيًا بهذا النوع من الحبال للأشخاص الذين يتعلمون التعليق لأول مرة"؟ أي آرائي الشخصية وما أنصح به الناس عندما يسألونني، وهو ما لا يتطابق تمامًا مع الممارسة الشائعة في المجتمع. في الجدول أعلاه، تم تحديثه ليعني "هل هذا النوع من الحبال شائع الاستخدام في التعليق؟

7  جوت - يُستخدم الجوت بشكل روتيني للتعليق من قبل الحمالين المتمرسين في جميع أنحاء العالم، خاصةً في التطبيقات التقليدية. ويستخدمه الكثيرون فقط للحزام عند القيام بالتعليق، ويختارون أنواعاً أخرى من الحبال مثل الجوت للأعالي، ولكن يستخدمه آخرون أيضاً إذا كان للحبال الصاعدة أيضاً. بغض النظر عن نوع الحبل الذي تختاره؛ من المهم أن تفهم أن الحبل سوف يبلى بمرور الوقت وسيحتاج إلى استبداله. افحص حبالك في كل مرة قبل استخدامها للتعليق. يمكن أن تظل الحبال التي تم تقاعدها من التعليق تجد الخدمة في العبودية الأرضية أو الصياغة. - أنا شخصيًا لا أستخدم الجوت للتعليق، فهو يتميز بخصائص قوة أقل، وتوجد العديد من الأمثلة على انكسار حبل الجوت في تقرير حادث الحبل مجموعة على FetLife. لكن هذا مجرد اختيار شخصي بناءً على ملف تعريف المخاطر الشخصي الخاص بي. يرى الآخرون الأمر بشكل مختلف.

8  نايلون و MFP - تُستخدم هذه الأنواع من الحبال بشكل روتيني في التعليق من قبل الحمالين المتمرسين في جميع أنحاء العالم لكل من الأحزمة والحبال العلوية. أستخدمها بنفسي. - ومع ذلك، عندما التعلّم للتعليق، أنا شخصياً أوصي الناس شخصياً باختيار حبل ذي أسنان أعلى (الحبل الفاخر هو المفضل لدي)، ثم بعد أن يبنوا مهارة في التعليق، يوسعون ممارستهم للقيام بذلك باستخدام حبل أكثر انزلاقاً. بهذه الطريقة يبنون مجموعة واحدة من المهارات ويتعلمون مجموعة واحدة من المتغيرات الجديدة في كل مرة. مرة أخرى، هذا مجرد اختيار وتوصية شخصية. يتعلم العديد من الحمالين التعليق باستخدام النايلون أو MFP ويستمرون في استخدامه طوال حياتهم. لا يوجد خطأ في ذلك.

شارك هذا المنشور

اترك تعليق

Updates to Foundations of Rope Bondage

You want to make the best book you can, you have many rounds of editing by multiple people, and while you get better and better every time, perfection is not really attainable. So, we’re asking you the reader and the community to help us improve.

No doubt, as more and more of you dig into Foundations, you may have questions.  If you see a way that we can improve Foundations, we’d love to hear it!  Feel free to leave a comment below or, if you’d like to share your thoughts more privately, drop me a line.

If you find simple spelling errors, or other such things, we will collect them offline for inclusion in a future version, but we will share any material clarifications on this page.  That way people don’t need to wait for a future printing to get important updates!

The Confusion:

Regarding the version of Foundations of Rope Bondage released in November 2023, friends in the community pointed out that there is information on page 96 that is confusing:  The “Suspension” and “Water” columns are included with no context or explanation, and without that context, those columns imply things that are not correct.

Without context, the data in the “Suspension” column makes it appear that I am saying that the rope community in general believes that Nylon and Jute should not be used for suspension.  That is not true.  Those kinds of rope are commonly used in suspension.  The “Water” column implies that certain kinds of rope should not come into contact with water.  That is also not true.  However, without context that is what it appears to mean.

The Clarification:

Suspension – Nylon and jute are used by experienced riggers for suspensions.  Personally however, I do not recommend them to people first learning how to suspend.  More on this in our Choosing Suspension Rope article.

Water – Cleaning:  Ropes can and should be washed from time to time for hygiene purposes.  Scenes:  When using rope for scenes where water will be involved, most people avoid natural fiber rope as knots tend to jam and become difficult or impossible to untie.  However, cotton can still be a good option if you want natural fiber; it is inexpensive and you can just cut the rope at the knot if it gets jammed.

Next Steps:

  • I am working with the publisher to update the manuscript so that future printings of this book will not include those two columns.
  • In the meantime, below you will find an updated table that is clearer and more accurate than the table in the initial publication.  Here is a PDF version of the table if you want to print it out and insert it into your copy of Foundations of Rope Bondage.
  Type Popularity1 Cost2 Approx. Breaking Strength3(lbs) Roughness4 Water scenes5 Suspension6 Comments
Natural Fiber Hemp ★★★★ $$$ 600 ★★★ Very popular with riggers worldwide. Has a classic look. Moves more heavily than Jute, something some prefer. Can be dyed, but the colors will be rich vs bright.
Jute ★★★★ $$$ 200 ★★★ 7 Also very popular with riggers worldwide. Not as strong as hemp. Lighter and more supple than hemp, moves in a nice springy way some prefer.
Cotton ★★★ $ 350 ★★ 5 Common,inexpensive, light, soft, but still holds knots well. Avoid “solid core” versions. Takes dye well.
Linen/Flax ★★ $$ 400 ★★★ Very similar to hemp, but softer. It tends to have fewer loose fibers and to be more consistent in appearance.
Coconut ★★ $ 80 ★★★★ Not nearly as common. Extremely Rough. Easily give abrasions. More for torment than confinement. Most people just stop struggling altogether after a little time in coconut rope.
Synthetic Fiber Nylon ★★★ $ 1450 8 A very popular synthetic available in many colors. Less tooth than natural fibers and can be slippery. Double knot any lock-offs. Look for versions offered by bondage rope suppliers; they normally have much better tying characteristics than nylon or nylon/poly blends found in hardware stores.
MFP ★★★ $ 1100 8 Very similar to nylon. Comes in lots of colors. Can’t be dyed at home.
POSH ★★ $$$ 1200 ★★ Looks and handles similarly to hemp. Popular for suspension up lines as it is so much stronger than natural hemp or jute.
Hempex $$ 1100 ★★★ Another synthetic hemp substitute that is much stronger than hemp or jute. Not as popular as POSH, as it tends to get fuzzy over time.

1  Popularity – This is just general guidance and is a snapshot in time and geographical location.  Depending on where and when you read this, things may be different.

2  Cost – The higher cost shown for hemp and jute is if you buy it from a rope bondage supplier and it has already been processed, had excess fibers removed, been treated with a little oil, etc.  If you buy it raw and process it yourself, the cost is much lower.  The relative values shown are subject to change with time and market forces.

3  Breaking Strength – These numbers (rounded down) are guidelines only.  They assume lab conditions with new 6mm (1/4”) rope.  There is tremendous variation in these numbers across different manufacturers, so always check the specs from the source you are considering. — Note: For liability reasons, it is quite common for bondage rope producers to not publish breaking strength numbers for natural fiber ropes. — The numbers above came from these sources in 2023:  rwrope.comropeandcord.comengineeringtoolbox.com

4  Roughness – This is a proxy for how it will feel on the skin and for how well knots will hold.  Rope that is more rough (has more “tooth”) will tend to hold knots better.  But if it is too rough, knots will tend to jam. (Which is why manila rope is not on this list.)

5  Water – AKA “Is this rope a good choice for scenes where it might get wet?” When natural fiber rope gets wet under tension, the knots can quite easily jam – work themselves so tight that they become very difficult, perhaps impossible, to untie. For that reason, people normally choose synthetics when water will be involved. Cotton rope however can be relatively inexpensive, so if you want to use natural fiber for a scene involving water, cotton can be a good choice; it is relatively inexpensive. If it gets jammed, just cut it at the knot … using EMT scissors or other methods that reduce risk when used on a person.

6  Suspension – As printed in the book, this column was meant to mean “Does Lazarus personally recommend this type of rope to people who are first learning to suspend?”  That is, my personal views and what I recommend to people when they ask, which is not quite the same as common practice in the community. In the table above, it has been updated to mean “Is this kind of rope commonly used in suspensions?”, subject to the footnotes below.

7  Jute – Jute is routinely used for suspension by experienced riggers around the world, particularly for traditional applications.  Many use it only for harness when doing suspension, choosing other types of rope like posh for the uplines, but others also use if for up lines as well.  Regardless of what rope you choose; it is important to understand that rope will wear out over time and will need to be replaced.  Check your ropes every time prior to using them for suspension.  Ropes that are retired from suspension can still find service in floor bondage or crafting. — I personally do not use Jute for suspensions, it has lower strength characteristics and many examples of jute rope breaks are found in the Rope Incident Report group on FetLife.  But this is just a personal choice based on my personal risk profile.  Others view it differently.

8  Nylon and MFP – These types of rope are routinely used in suspension by experienced riggers around the world for both harnesses and up lines.  I use it myself. — That said, when learning to suspend, I personally recommend that people choose a rope with higher tooth (posh is my preferred), then, after they build skill in suspending, expand their practice to do so using more slippery rope.  That way they are building one set of skills and learning one set of new variables at a time.  Again, this is just a personal choice and recommendation.  Many riggers learn suspension with nylon or MFP and continue to use it throughout their life.  There is nothing wrong with that.

Share this Post

Leave a Comment